Feb 23, 2013
Door Time: 8:00 PM

Day: Saturday, February 23, 2013
Door Time: 8:00 PM
Age: All Ages
Advance Ticket Price: $10
Day Of Show Price: $10
Buy Tickets

What Made Milwaukee Famous
What Made Milwaukee Famous has been a stalwart of the Austin music scene since their inception in 2003. The three original members, Michael Kingcaid (vocals, guitar, keyboards), John Farmer (bass), and Jason Davis (guitars, vocals), each bring a diverse range of influences to the table, allowing them to seamlessly shift between genres at the drop of a hat. With the release of their first two records, Trying to Never Catch Up and What Doesn’t Kill Us on Seattle’s Barsuk imprint, the band has been touted for their abilities to channel strong musicianship and diverse song-writing into instantly, addictive hooks. Their “elegant pop” (Billboard) has landed them on the bill at a number of the mammoth festivals including Bonnaroo, Austin City Limits, Sasquatch, SXSW and Lollapalooza, highlighted by a taping on PBS’s prestigious Austin City Limits with Franz Ferdinand. They have also shared the stage with the likes of Arcade Fire, The Black Keys, The National, Snow Patrol, The Walkmen, TV on the Radio, and the Pretenders to name a few; a testament to their musical diversity and mutual respect with other artists in the industry.

What Made Milwaukee Famous has returned with their third full-length album (due out January 2013) that picks up right where they left off, uniting powerful, anthemic hooks with lush instrumentation. WMMF has enlisted a who's who of the Austin music scene with guest spots by Kelly Doyle (Robert Ellis) on lead guitar, Evan Jacobs (Tacks the Boy Disaster, Polyphonic Spree) on keys, and Cully Symington (Okkervil River, Cursive, The Afghan Whigs) on drums to round out a fresh new sound for the band. Their new album tentatively titled, You Can't Fall Off The Floor, was recorded at Good Danny’s studios in Austin, TX and co-produced by Danny Reisch (White Denim, Shearwater). Guest musicians Kathleen Edwards and Matthew Vasquez (Delta Spirit) lend their talents, along with Austin staples Dana Falconberry, Warren Hood, Mike Harmeier (Mike and the Moonpies), Gary Newcomb (Lil' Cap'n Travis), Aaron Sinclair (Frank Smith, The Lot Six), and Mike Booher (Zykos). With the impending release of WMMF’s newest installment, they are poised to satiate their passionate devotees with exciting, new material and their rivetingly energetic, live shows.


See You Home Wolf
See You Home WolfHome-Wolf is a two-piece band comprised of brothers Brandon and Cameron Beckerdite.

Instant Empire - Album Release Show
Instant Empire - Album Release Show

For the past three years, the Denver-based indie rockers of Instant Empire have played regularly in Colorado and toured the Midwest with aspirations as big as their sound. While most IE songs are anthemic and rowdy enough to keep fans fist-pumping, the literate lyrics and the band's complexity beg a second (or third) listen at home on the couch. Their brand of aggressive indie rock has drawn comparisons to The Hold Steady, The National, Manchester Orchestra and Bright Eyes. Thematically, IE’s songs relate to the zeitgeist: our struggle to overcome isolation, connect to others, and find meaning in chaotic lives. The band’s sound is broad and unafraid to experiment. Songs are highlighted by a tight rhythm section, melodically rich guitar interplay, dark synth underpinnings, and vocals that are at once urgent and passionate. After releasing three quality EPs—Instant Empire (2011), Heavy Hollow (2012), and Keep Up! (2013)—IE was selected from a national pool of artists to record with Christopher Tyng’s Grow Music Project in Santa Barbara, CA. The single from this session will appear on their first full-length album, planned for Spring 2015. John Vanderslice (Spoon, Death Cab for Cutie, Mountain Goats, etc.) has signed on to record and produce the new album.  This is a band that has found its sound and that believes it is on the cusp of creating something special. Instant Empire is lead singer Scotty Saunders with guitarists Sean Connaughty and Lou Kucera, Aaron Stone on bass, Doug Chase pushing buttons and Tristan Kelley on drums.